Skip to content
August 16, 2011 / clinerose

Tools of the Trade: A few of my favorite things.

When I find something I like I stick with it. Most of the products I use in my house are the products my mom used in our house when I was growing up. But every now and then, I will be faced with a situation that forces me to experiment with something new (for example, my tried and true method didn’t work or I don’t have  go-to product yet).  And recently I came across two new products that I just had to share.

 Silver Rustoleum spray paint

RustOleum Universal Metallic Spray Paint (Advanced Formula in Titanium Silver). I feel like we should give it round of applause. When I was repainting my kitchen cabinets, I replaced all the hinges and pulls with new chrome hardware from Home Depot. Unfortunately, there are 4 oddly sized upper cabinets that were drilled for a pull that is no longer a standard size. So, instead of trying to track down the rare pull size, I decided I would just spray paint the existing pulls in a shiny silver to blend.

Cabinet pull with Rustoleum spray paint

I’ve used plenty of silver spray paint before but am always disappointed with the dull finish. Not this time! The spray paint covers evenly (that’s only one coat above) and has these amazing reflective flakes that create a real metallic look. Plus, the “trigger” on the spray paint can is super easy to use. After I sprayed the cabinet pulls, I decided my bedroom lamps needed a face lift and kept on spraying. I had to talk myself out of spray painting every other lamp I own. It was just THAT easy. I want to try the gold immediately.

Knife magnet

Next, in my never-ending quest to put my kitchen back together, I noticed that my fancy new knives had some small brown spots on them. Turns out to be rust. I read online that soaking the knives in a can of Coke would remove the rust stains. If that is not disturbing I don’t know what is. I tried it and it didn’t work. Thank God, because I was not about to give up my Diet Coke.

Bar Keepers Friend

I also read online about a product called Bar Keepers Friend that many people recommended. I remembered reading about Bar Keeper’s Friend on Urban Grace so I figured I’d give it a try. If Erika uses it than it must be good. And it is. The rust spots came right off and the knives looks shiny and new again. Especially, when display on the newly spray painted magnetic knife holder! You can see the new cabinet color in that photo too. I haven’t posted the after photos of my kitchen yet because it’s still a work in progress. I haven’t created the curtain to hide the trash can and the polyurethane I used to seal the cabinets yellowed in a few spots (NOT on my favorite thing list) so I have to fix that before I can should you. Stay tuned.

Photo credits: Me.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. clinerose / Aug 25 2011 1:44 PM

    UPDATE: I bought the gold. Not as great. No metallic flakes. Although, i realized later that the spray paint I bought isn’t “Advanced Formula”. I’m going to have to track that down and try again. I’ll keep you posted!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 250 other followers

