Skip to content
March 2, 2011 / clinerose

It’s barbaric, but hey, it’s home.

My hubs, David, recently returned from a business trip to the United Arab Emirates. He’s of Lebanese descent so he felt right at home. I don’t think it’s for me though. I hate to say it but not one single bone in my body is aching to travel to the Middle East. Don’t get me wrong, I love to travel. I’m the first one to invite myself along on someone else’s vacation (seriously, ask around) but there is something about this region of the world that just doesn’t grab me.

There is one product of the Middle East that I do love. Princes Jasmine. Only kidding. David. He counts, right? In all seriousness, it’s the Lebanese fashion designer, Elie Saab.  In addition to his beautiful clothing, Elie lives in some ridiculously fancy cribs. Hard not to be creative when you live here…

Elie’s magical Beirut home photographed for Architectural Digest:

White, cream, tall ceilings and archways

Cream walls, glass chandelier, palm leaves Arched windows, cream and white with wood accents

And Elie’s incredible Paris apartment, also shot for Architectural Digest.

Navy leather, floor lamps, creamy white walls

Wood paneling, crystal chandelier

Mirrored glass canopy bed with white and brown lines

The genius behind both these apartments is the Lebanese born interior designer, Chakib Richani. Chakib uses the same foundation for both spaces: monochromatic colors, rich wood accents and layers and layers of architectural details. However, for the Parisian pad, he introduces dramatic metal pieces that add a distinct metropolitan flair.

If these interiors are any indication of the glitz and glamor one could experience in the Middle East, than I have no choice but to be on board. Besides, if dressing (and eating!) like these gals is encouraged, it can’t be that bad:

Picnic in Abu Dhabi with Carrie and the girls

For the record: I am posting this picture for the outfits, not for the love of the movie. I have street cred to uphold after all. Sorry SJP, but even you must agree that this wasn’t your best.

Photo credits: Architectural Digest and Craig Blankenhorn

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Erin @ TukaBear / Mar 2 2011 3:50 PM

    This home makes me want to go to the middle east! It’s BEAUTIFUL! Thanks for sharing pics 🙂

Leave a Reply

