Skip to content
March 3, 2011 / clinerose

A pretty nice little Saturday.

Over the weekend, David and I trekked out to Loudoun County to check out the Ekster Antiques Barn Sale to continue our search for items for the new house. I was particularly interested in this sale because I’ve heard only good things about it from a client of mine with amazing taste. The same client who sent me a text message on Friday saying, “Don’t let me go back there. I buy too much.” Love that. The barn was immaculately staged and really something to see. That alone was worth the long drive. This sale is right up my alley. First and foremost, I love antiques. I love things that are old and that are one of a kind. I love the color white. I love to accessorize with earthy elements: moss, twigs, grass. I love industrial pieces with stainless steel finishes and iron. I love funky lighting. Turns out I just love barns.

White dresser with mirror and greenery Large battered armoire with white dishes

White and cream pitchers with greenery Long farm house table with accessories

White round table with large armoire and greenery

Photos via Ekster Antiques

Unfortunately, all the things David and I had been eyeing online were already spoken for, so we left Ekster feeling pretty defeated. At the recommendation of the barn owner, Jon-Paul, we decided to have lunch in near-by Purcellville, VA before heading home. Still on the hunt, David and I popped into a few of the antique stores that were around and spotted these goodies. All for dirt cheap.  Gotta love that.

Cognac vinyl and chrome chairs Corner wicker chair with pie piece cushion

Gold and black woman print Black and white floral low ottoman

Gold rimmed glasses with scallop detial Black and gold table setting

Actually no, I take that back. The wicker chair in the top right corner was over $100.00 which I just did not understand. Oh well. We did go home with some homemade tortilla chips and salsa and aged cheese soaked in wine. Unbelievably delicious. A pretty nice little Saturday if you ask me….

Forgive me. I have to do it. Come on! I have to… “Well, um, actually a pretty nice little Saturday, we’re going to go to Home Depot. Yeah, buy some wallpaper, maybe get some flooring, stuff like that. Maybe Bed, Bath, & Beyond, I don’t know, I don’t know if we’ll have enough time.” – Old School. Too easy. It was RIGHT there.

I plan to be first in line at the next Ekster Barn Sale to continue to look for a server or buffet for the Dining Room. And, of course, anything else that strikes our fancy along the way.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Maria / Mar 3 2011 9:33 AM

    I want to go with you!!

  2. Jessica / Mar 3 2011 9:47 AM

    Do you recall how much the buoys were??

  3. clinerose / Mar 3 2011 9:57 AM

    No, unfortunately, I don’t even remember seeing any?! Sorry Jessica!

  4. Caroline Verschoor / Mar 4 2011 9:46 PM

    Hello Cline (I think that’s your first name), this is Caroline, owner of Ekster, and thank you for posting such a nice review on my barn. I take comments very seriously, and so I am sorry that many things were sold prior to you getting there. One of the ways I am working on solving this, is by adding more spaces. The April sale will have a) more merchandise and b) more space, so hopefully there will be less of a frenzy. Also I want you to know that I am quite diligent about searching for my customers, so as my daughters say: Mom has a computer in her head! do please let me know what you are on the hunt for and when I see it, I will bring it/call you/deliver it, whatever! For me the fun is in the search, not in the ‘own’…. In fact, I am headed for europe next week, so now is a good time for a wishlist… email me at eksterantiques@hotmail.com and thanks again for your kind words…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

