Skip to content
March 17, 2011 / clinerose

Ireland

In honor of St. Patrick’s Day, I thought I’d share some photos from our trip to Ireland in 2009.  David and I were lucky enough to tag long with my sister, Megan, and her husband, Shane, on their vacation to see U2 in Dublin. And by tag along, I mean we invited ourselves. I told you. It’s a bad habit. One of the highlights for me was the impromptu trip to Cashel while driving from Galway to Dublin for the concert. Such a charming little town and we stayed in the most darling place, The Cashel Palace Hotel.

Cashel Palace Exterior 2

Our quaint quarters. A little too matchy-matchy for me but adorable nonetheless:

Cashel Palace Room Interior 2 Cashel Palace Room Interior

Cashel Palace Bathroom

I loved the staircase and the carved wood moldings. Only I would take pictures of molding while on vacation.

Cashel Palace Staircase

Cashel Palace Banister

One huge attraction in town is the iconic Rock of Cashel, where it is reputed that St. Patrick converted the King of Munster during the 5th century. I was too enamored with the architecture to pay close attention to the guide explaining the history of the structure so that’s all I got for you. Plus, I was too busy snapping pictures of that view!

The Rock at Cashel

The Rock at Cashel Exterior

Cashel Cemetary

Cemetary from the Rock

Another view from the Rock

View from the Rock at Cashel

I completely forgot to pack anything green to wear so I plan on drinking a tall pint of Guinness (with a shot of port wine) to celebrate my Irish heritage.  Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

Leave a Reply

