Skip to content
April 11, 2011 / clinerose

What I’m Working On: Day One

I am introducing a new feature here on Design in Bloom called, What I’m Working On Wednesdays. This feature will be updated every Wednesday and will give you a sneak peek into my current client projects. In honor of this new feature, am I hosting a week-long celebration where I will be posting a new project once a day until Friday. I hope you enjoy.

Today I wanted to share a living room project with you that I am really excited about. Let’s start with the floorplan:

Living Room Floorplan

I am using two custom upholstery fabrics that will be used on the Pearson sofas (show below) facing each other. The body of the sofa will be in the cream indoor/outdoor fabric from Lee Jofa and the 3 back pillows will be in the print from Schumacher:

Lee Jofa cream upholstery fabric for sofa Schumacher Embroidery print

I am planning to recover a pair of adorable little English chairs that my client currently owns in the dark gold Duralee fabric. The matching ottoman will be recovered in this Dwell Studio for Robert Allen fabric with antique brass nail heads around the base. This fabric will also be used for 20″ x 20″ pillows on the sofa with a colorful brush fringe.

gibson_36041-263

Here are the fabrics together (with the brush fringe):

living room color board

The coffee table I am using is from D’Style and is shown below, although we are moving the scrolled piece down to create a lower shelf. This will be finished in an antique gold patina, a little brighter than what’s shown in the picture.

I am also introducing a new rug into the room which is the driving force behind the color scheme for this room. This particular Aubusson was found at C.G.Coe & Sons in Bethesda, MD. The background of the rug is more of a creamy color, not as gold as what is shown here, thank goodness.

Aubusson rug from French Accents

I plan to use the clients existing occasional tables and the TV armoire but most of the pieces need to be repainted to fit into the new color scheme. I am also on the hunt for a 30″ round table that we are going to paint and finish with a chess/checker board top for the kids to use for games (and homework). This will sit in between the 2 gold chairs. And finally, I am starting to collect artwork and lamps – the jewelry as I call it – to finish off the room.

I will be sure to post after pictures when it all comes together. The big reveal.

 

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. G-Rose / Apr 11 2011 11:24 PM

    Wow! it looks awesome!! Way to go girl.

Trackbacks

  1. Happy 4th of July! « cline rose
  2. What I’m Working On: Update on Day One. « cline rose

Leave a Reply

