Skip to content
April 13, 2011 / clinerose

What I’m Working On: Day 3

When I first met with my clients, we had discussed the idea of using toile wallpaper on the walls and a coordinating toile fabric for pretty much everything else (window treatments, pillows, etc). After a few weeks of debate, we determined that the toile was too French and that something more Colonial could work. But I was pretty attached to the original toile idea (and my clients love Asian aesthetics) so I turned to chinoiserie prints for a solution. Meet Starry Night, a deep blue/gray and taupe print from Schumacher. God Bless Schumacher.

The chinoiserie is going to be used for the coverlet at the foot of the bed, along with pillows for the window seat. To coordinate with the chinoiserie print, I pulled this paisley (also from Schumacher) that will be used for some additional throw pillows. The fabric on the right is for the window seat cushion (from Duralee).

Arklow paisley from Schumacher Window seat bench cushions

The bedding is going to be a solid ivory (this is the Somerset line from Legacy Linens) and I am still on the fence about using a complimentary colored tape along the edges.

Somerset-Website_w_Page_10 Somerset-Website_w_Page_14

The built-ins were already in discussion when I came on board so I can’t take credit for this idea. Even though this really messed up any chance for long window panels (the built-in surrounds a triple window), I still was able to create a custom window seat area AND introduce plantation shutters. Win win. Plus, the built-ins look amazing. Another win.

R10214 REV'D 02-03-11 Bedroom Cabinetry

Once the toile wallpaper idea was scrapped, I was left with the tough task of finding a blue paint with enough gray and enough robin’s egg to compliment all our fabrics. So, I turned to my trusty friend Ben Moore to find the perfect shade for the walls. Enter Benjamin Moore’s Mount Saint Anne.

Ben Moore 1565 from West Elm

We used Benjamin Moore Linen White for the trim and built-ins. My go-to trim color. And I had my painters paint the tray ceiling about 3 shades lighter than the wall color so it had a slight tint of blue. Something I decided to do while my clients were out of town. It looks really sharp. Thank goodness my clients think so too!

Photo credits: All are mine, with the exception of Legacy Linens for the bedding, Mark Moeller for the built-ins and West Elm for the paint.

Leave a Reply

