Skip to content
April 14, 2011 / clinerose

What I’m Working On: Day 4

Guess what?  I have another client project to share with you. Here’s an update on Living Room that I am working on. So far the client has purchased this custom sectional from J.Redmond. We changed the arm on the right side to reflect the angle on the back, adjusted the overall dimensions for a prefect fit and had it upholstered this golden/tan Maxwell fabric. This piece is currently in place in my client’s home and is absolutely stunning. Super comfy too. Step one complete.

J.Redmond custom sectional

Sofa upholstery from Maxwell

The next step was to find a chair that will sit in the corner on the opposite side of the room from the sectional. We settled on this Charles Stewart chair (along with matching ottoman) due to its size and interesting lines. This will be upholstered in the turquoise stripe from Jim Thompson’s No. 9. It’s currently on order and I am dying to see it.

Boreal Chair_Page_1

No. 9 Chair fabric for Charles Stewart chair

My client and I are now discussing having some pillows made for the sectional. To get this ball rolling, we met at the Design Center downtown and pulled a bizillion memo samples that would be great accents for the room. When we last met onsite, we narrowed it down to these three because they worked the best in the space, especially with the rug my client currently owns. Could the elephants be any cuter? I had no idea I even liked elephants until I saw these fabrics. All the pillow fabrics are from Jim Thompson.

Elephant pillow and brush fringe

Pillow from Jim Thompson with flange Fabric for pillows from Jim Thompson

My client purchased two black lacquered chairs that look an awful lot like these little guys from Ballard, only her chairs don’t have the back cushion. They will be placed toward the back of the room for extra seating. We had settled on recovering the seat cushions in this Jim Thompson fabric but seeing that it’s 100% silk,  it’s waaaaay out of our budget, even for such a small piece.

Macou lounge chair

Chair cushion fabric

So, my homework is to find something similar to this fabric in a poly or poly blend. It’s hard to tell by the picture but it’s a two-tone large scale check in shades of bronze. Sometimes, when you’ve seen the real deal, it’s hard to settle on an imitation so I hope I can find something equally as attractive. Man, I better get cracking.

 

Leave a Reply

