Skip to content
June 1, 2011 / clinerose

What I’m Working On: Packing.

With a little help from my friends over at Polyvore, I created a collection of must-haves for my European excursion. Since the weather in London can be completely unpredictable, I figured I needed to have lots of options for any sudden and unexpected shifts in the forecast. 
 
From what I’m told layers are key in this type of climate. That seems to be the tip everyone shares when you’re traveling anywhere, doesn’t it? So, that’s my plan of attack for this trip too. My main daytime outfits will consist of skinny jeans paired with basic cotton tops or long jersey dresses. Both options accessorized with bright printed scarfs and practical, yet stylish flats. And of course, some sort of water-resistant outerwear. I’m fairly certain I am over packing but hey, I like to have options. Plus, I don’t want to have a repeat of what happened in Brazil. What happened in Brazil, you ask? Well, let me tell you. It’s Brazil, right? So naturally, I planned for super exotic, tropical and flat-out hot weather.  Well, that’s what you can expect in Rio, but in May (Brazil’s chilly season) the further south you go, the colder it gets. Here’s a little geography lesson for you: traveling south of Rio is traveling further AWAY from the equator and the further away from the equator you are, the colder it gets. You’re welcome. By the end of the trip, I was rocking my lightweight summery dresses with my boyfriend cardigans, topped off with thick black tights, elaborate fur coats and sparkly sequenced shoes that I had to borrow from David’s female cousins and aunts. Total disaster. Never again. This time I did my homework and I am (overly) prepared. Well, let’s hope so.

Isabel Marant zip jacket
$725 – net-a-porter.com

Woven shoes
22 GBP – warehouse.co.uk

Tsumori Chisato sheer shawl
$245 – openingceremony.us

Wood umbrella
100 GBP – coggles.com

Ray Ban metal aviator sunglass
$159 – mytheresa.com

Urbanear
$50 – nordstrom.com

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Christina Han / Jun 1 2011 10:32 AM

    Love your strategy. You are gonna be one hot American girl in London! And can I just say I want that Isabel Marant zip jacket… Have a fabulous time in London!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Street Smart Design. « cline rose

Leave a Reply

