Skip to content
September 28, 2011 / clinerose

What I’m Working On: James Nares.

During one of my latest email conversations with a new client, I suggested that she take a look at the artist, James Nares. I thought his artwork might be a good fit in her home. To no surprise at all, my client absolutely flipped over his work. I believe the title of her email back to me was “OMG”. I love that. If you’re not familiar with James Nares or his work, let me introduce you. Nares suspends himself above a blank canvas and paints one long continuous brush stroke of a rich, saturated color. The result is a gorgeous, fluid ribbon-like line of color.

james nares at work

I had first learned of James Nares through the blog Habitually Chic. Heather, the author of the blog, has done two posts on his work. And since then, I have seen his art pop up everywhere (including Larry David’s NYC apartment building on the latest season of Curb Your Enthusiasm). It’s hard to miss. Take a look at some of the photos Heather shared on her blog, displaying Nares’ work in interior spaces.

michael rosenberg and assoc james nares

laura day lonny james nares

kara mann james nares

baroness bruno de pampleonne 4

foley and cox james nares

ingrassia residence by simon watson

todd romano small james nares

So pretty. I kind of want one for myself. My client and have been talking about possibly taking a day trip to the NYC gallery where Nares’ work is displayed. We might just be going home with two paintings that day. Wishful thinking, but hey, a girl can dream.

All photo credits: Habitually Chic.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Anna@MyDesignEthos / Sep 28 2011 11:12 PM

    I have been seeing these paintings popping up recently and absolutely adored them. Thanks for introducing me to the artist!

    • clinerose / Sep 29 2011 11:20 AM

      My pleasure! Thanks for the comment Anna.

Trackbacks

  1. So many choices, so little time… | Passion Journey

Leave a Reply

