Skip to content
October 13, 2011 / clinerose

Bertoia + Sheepskin.

I love the look of something ultra modern softened by a thick textural element, whether it be an entire space, or just a piece of furniture. The perfect example of this is a sheepskin throw (technically a rug but still) draped over the steel grid-like Bertoia chair. Let me demonstrate my point:

Toronto home -Bertoia chairs with skeepskin throws

What might be considered a hard, uninviting piece is now layered with warm, furry goodness. See. Now it’s the perfect place to hang out on a day like today (it’s dreary and damp here) with a cup of coffee and a laptop.  Oh, I love this room. I love everything about it.

 Bertoia diamond chair via DWR   Sheepskin throw from Ikea

The sheepskin throw/rug is from Ikea and is only $30.00. Wish I could say the same for the Bertoia Diamond chair. I could handle one BUT what I would really love to have is Dining Room with Bertoia side chairs around a big table. And of course, a sheepskin on every chair. Better start saving.

Random fact: In college, my design program took a field trip to Pennsylvania to visit the Knoll factory and many other design landmarks in the region. I think that is where my love (ahem slight obsession) of mid-century design first started. We also took a day trip to see the studio of Val Bertoia, Harry Bertoia’s son, who makes metal “sound” sculptures. Unfortunately, I don’t remember too much from that day other than the sculptures really did make beautiful “music”. That and I’m pretty sure Val hit on my professor.

Photo Credits: The Style Files via Design*Sponge, DWR and Ikea.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. nestdesignstudio / Oct 26 2011 7:54 AM

    I love this room … everything about it is just so perfect!

    • clinerose / Nov 8 2011 10:27 AM

      I’m glad you agree 🙂 Thanks for the comments!

Leave a Reply

