Skip to content
October 19, 2011 / clinerose

What I’m Working On: A grown-up little girls room.

One of my original clients has requested an upgrade for her daughter’s bedroom. Well, let’s be honest, her daughter has requested the upgrade. Something a bit more grown up than her current lavender and yellow room. Having picked out the paint colors the first go around, I will be sad to see Ellie’s lavender walls go. But I get it. I outgrew my childhood bedroom at one point too. So, to kick-start this redesign, my client (and her mom) took advantage of Bloomingdale’s Columbus Day sale. Check out their purchases below.

Pintuck coverlet from Bloomingdale's   

Bloomingdale’s Sky Pintuck Quilt (currently in Jade but this is under discussion thanks to me. Oh designers!) and Radiant Sheets from the Sky Summersweet collection. Those sheets are adorable.

Sky Summersweet from Bloomingdale's

After much deliberation, Ellie has settled on the Nightbloom duvet and shams from Anthropologie. This will replace the original duvet and shams from Bloomingdale’s Sky Summersweet (pictured above). Still my first choice.

Fabricadabra Cheeky Ikat Print Tangerine organic cotton pillow cover  Jonathon Adler Postiano Bolster pillow

We’re using orange as our accent color, so I would love to see some tangerine ikat pillows from Fabricadabra and/or Postiano bolster pillows from Jonathan Adler thrown on the bed. The ikat pillows would be easier on the budget, for sure.

vivien mirrored desk  FelixSideChairOrangeF11 from Crate and Barrel

At first we had discussed purchasing an antique desk and painting it a bright orange in a high-gloss finish but then we found the Vivien mirrored desk and the rest is history. I would love to introduce the Felix orange side chair from Crate and Barrel to stick with our orange accents.

Shades of Light lamp

A new lamp is in order for Ellie’s bedside table. I think this cheerful little guy will do the trick. Ikat table lamp from Shades of Light.

Benjamin Moore Old Pickup Blue   Ben Moore Soft Pumpkin

The walls will be painted in Old Pickup Blue from Ben Moore. And Soft Pumpkin from Ben Moore above the bead board in her bathroom. Soft Pumpkin is much brighter in person.

Random fact: I love love love decorating kid’s rooms. Before Cline Rose Designs opened it’s doors in 2007, I thought long and hard about designing exclusively for kids. It’s just so much fun. Bright colors, exciting prints and loads of imagination. I’m also helping my sister pull together my niece’s new bedroom and the nursery re-do (for my new niece or nephew!) so I’m definitely getting my fix.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Tbirdie / Oct 24 2011 3:32 PM

    I’d love to see an image of how this room turned out! I just got the Nightbloom comforter as well and am a little stymied as to what color to paint the room. Mine will be a guestroom rather than a kid’s room and I want the overall feeling to be very peaceful and relaxing.

Leave a Reply

