Skip to content
May 12, 2011 / clinerose

Painted Furniture: Befores and Afters

I often get attached to furniture in its original state. Many of the treasures I have collected from antique stores and estate sales were bought with the intention of a make over but years later they sit on display wearing a dull, worn and chipped finish. Part of it is sentiment, I feel as if I am robbing the piece of its integrity by painting it a super shiny hot pink or something equally as funky. And the other part of me doesn’t feel comfortable mixing in too many painted finishes (resulting in too many different colors) in one room. And I don’t just want to paint everything white either. But when I see photos of DIY projects transforming old pieces into upgraded versions, I start to change my mind.

Before and after of a wood buffet from Mint Love Social Club via Little Green Notebook:

Wood buffet before

Blue and white painted wood buffet after

 Before and after of a cane chair submitted by a reader to Little Green Notebook:

wood cane chair before  White painted wood cane chair after

And finally, a before and after of a dated desk by Natty by Design via Little Green Notebook:

yellow painted antique desk before

kelly green painted desk after

Truth be told, I probably would have kept the chair and desk in their original state. See, I’m such a sucker. But while I like the befores, I truly love the after looks. Seeing these photos makes me want to whip out my paint brushes and get cracking on some of the beat-up things in my house.

Images from Little Green Notebook. This blog is full of creative ideas for projects which the author, Jenny, makes look way too easy in her demo photos. Don’t you hate that?? Be sure to check it out!

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. natalie / May 12 2011 2:35 PM

    Thanks for the shout out! I am also IN LOVE with that green desk makeover.

    • clinerose / May 12 2011 4:17 PM

      Thank you, Natalie! I love the make over you did on the buffet!! The two tone is great! Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Annie / Feb 6 2012 11:01 PM

    I was wondering if you would share the name and brand of the green color you used on the desk…? I love it!

Leave a comment