Skip to content
September 1, 2011 / clinerose

Nat geo.

Lately, I have been drawn to the idea of using National Geographic magazines as decor. Look how amazing the yellow spines look on these book shelves and occasional tables. After spending half my life looking for leather-bound books and other hardcovers for client projects, the thought of eating up a big chunk of shelf space with these iconic magazines is very appealing.

Tilton Fenwick Hampton's Showhouse

Bar cart with national geographic stacked on the bottom  

rachel-roy-living-room with national geograhic magazines

I have a new client that actually works at National Geographic so maybe I can talk him into borrowing a bunch of old issues for his home. There is one built-in shelf that would look amazing with blocks of bright yellow splashed across it. We haven’t even broken ground on his project yet but I am already accessorizing it in my head. Cart before the horse.

And while we are on the subject, I just love National Geographic’s logo.  I always comment on it while David and I are watching Nat Geo TV. Locked Up Abroad, specifically.

Photo credits: Rachel Roy’s Living Room (and idea of the source?), Time Out ChicagoApartment Therapy, and Tilton Fenwick at the Hampton Designer Showhouse via Hamtontoes

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Anna@MyDesignEthos / Sep 1 2011 11:59 PM

    My parents have enormous boxes of Nat Geos from their subscription since I was born. Maybe I could put them to better use! Although I don’t really love the idea of using books simply for display. It does sound perfect for your client though – if he works there, surely he loves their work?

Leave a comment