Skip to content
October 26, 2011 / clinerose

Packing for Albuquerque.

David and I are heading to Albuquerque, New Mexico later today for a family wedding. I am really excited to go. This is my mom’s side of the family who all reside somewhere on the west coast and I don’t get to see them that often. Plus, my sister, Megan, used to live in Arizona on a Navajo reservation (she volunteered for Mercy Corp after she graduated college) and has arranged many hikes, jeep tours and museum visits. Apparently, she still knows everyone. My parents went to visit her one spring break but not me. I’ve never been. I insisted on traveling to Florida with my friend Beth (this Beth) and her family instead (it’s way cooler NOT to spend time with your parents when you are in the 9th grade). So, now I get a second chance to go and see all the things I missed out on before. Although, truth be told, David and I just finished watching all four seasons of Breaking Bad so I’m slightly terrified at the same time…

While daydreaming about our trip to the ABQ, I kept going back to the idea of rocking a chunky sweater with a graphic Native American print. I don’t own one at the moment but I would like to. I came across this gorgeous poncho from Alice and Olivia and thought it would be a great addition to my wardrobe. The print is classified as Navajo which I find appropriate considering my sister’s history AND Tyler said it is huge for fall. Navajo. It’s so hot right now. But personally, I like the idea of wrapping myself up in this during those chilly southwestern nights.

Alice and Olivia Navajo Cascade Poncho  Alice and Olivia Navajo Cascade Poncho

But a poncho? How would I ever wear a poncho? Do I belt it? I have no idea. What do I wear it with? How do I make it feel less Betty Suarez? Thankfully, I came across this amazing ensemble on the blog Radiant Republic using a similar sweater and fell in love with the look. This flawless outfit was arranged by the blog’s author, Erika. She’s so good.

Radiant Republic Fair Isle fall ensembleI think for this trip, I would pack more rugged shoes to help me navigate the terrain a little better. Maybe something like this? Other than that I wouldn’t change a thing. I love this outfit. I want those earrings in a bad way. In addition to my Navajo inspired over-sized outerwear, I will also be on the lookout for similar versions of all of these pieces to complete this look. I’ll be best dressed in Albuquerque for sure. Thanks for sharing, Erika!

Photo credits: Alice and Olivia and Radiant Republic

Leave a comment